Bookmark and Share

Wegmans School of Nursing


Dr. Dianne Cooney Miner

Dr. Dianne Cooney Miner, Dean
Dr. Marilyn Dollinger, Associate Dean

In March 2006, St. John Fisher College opened the Wegmans School of Nursing, named in honor of Robert and Peggy Wegman, longtime friends and benefactors of the College. The Wegmans School of Nursing houses the undergraduate and graduate programs in nursing and the graduate program in mental health counseling. The mission of the school is to create an individualized teaching and learning environment which supports the special needs and values of students seeking roles in licensed, credentialed, and certified professions. Founded in the Basilian tradition and guided by ethical and professional standards, the school prepares individuals who are committed to lives of service and the values of intellectual engagement, social responsibility, and respect for diversity.

The Wegmans School of Nursing is dedicated to graduating professional mental health counselors and advanced practice nurses who will provide expert, compassionate, ethical care and be leaders in the healthcare environment. To promote an internalized standard of excellence in practice, the school fosters academic and clinical practice environments for students that provide the opportunity for student and faculty to engage in:

  • Active involvement in the quest for knowledge.
  • Professional competence.
  • Collaborative relationships.
  • Ongoing personal growth.
  • Flexibility and openness to change.
  • Effective communication.
  • Modeling of professional behaviors.
  • Community involvement.

The Bachelor of Science (BS) in nursing, the Master of Science (MS) in advanced practice nursing, and the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) programs are all accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). CCNE is an autonomous accrediting agency, contributing to the improvement of the public's health. CCNE ensures the quality and integrity of baccalaureate, graduate, and residency programs in nursing.

The Mental Health Counseling program is accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP).

Wegmans School of Nursing